Classification of Cotton on the basis of length

According to their staple length there are three types of cotton fiber,
1. Short Staple
Length= ⅜ inch to 1 inch.
Coarse and low strength and no or little luster.
Diameter= 13-22 micron.
Example= Indian and Asiatic cotton.
2. Medium Staple
Length= 0.5 inch to 1.25 inch.
Medium strength and medium luster.
Diameter= 12-17 micron.
Example: American cotton.
3. Long Staple
Length= 1 inch to 2.5inch.
Fine luster and top quality cotton.
Diameter= 10-12 micron.
Example= Sea Island cotton and Egyptian cotton.


Spamming is strictly Prohibited. Each and every Spam Comment will be deleted soon. So stay away from Spamming.